Department introduction


Brief Introduction

Founded in 1944, the Department of Civil Engineering now has more than 8,000 graduates serving in domestic and foreign companies, research institutes and academic organizations. Master's and Doctoral degrees were established in 1959 and 1971 respectively. 

Past & Present Chairpersons:

S. Suemitsu(末光俊介) (Apr. 1944-Sep. 1945) J. Shirane(白根治一) (Sep. 1945-Mar. 1946)

J. Shirane(白根治一)

(Mar. 1946-Apr. 1947)

H.C. Lin

(Apr. 1947-Aug. 1947)

F. S. Wu

(Jul. 1947-Sep. 1948)

H. Chiang

(Aug. 1948-Sep. 1948)

C. Ni (Oct. 1948-Jul. 1968) L. Z. Chou (Aug. 1968-Jul. 1970)

F. S. Shi

(Aug. 1970-Jul. 1972)

L. Z. Chou (Aug. 1972-Jul. 1974)
L. S. Zuo (Aug. 1974-Jul. 1976) I. M. Wang (Aug. 1976-Jul. 1979)

Q. H. You

(Aug. 1979-Jul. 1991)

J. K. Tan

(Aug. 1985-Jul. 1991)

D. S. Hsu

(Aug. 1991-Jul. 1994)

P. A. Tsai

(Aug. 1994-Jul. 1997)

I. K. Fang

(Aug. 1997-Jul. 2000)

J. W. Chen

(Aug. 2000-Jul. 2003)

C. P. Wu

(Aug. 2003-Jul. 2006)

T. Y. Chen

(Aug. 2006-Jul. 2009)

J. S. Huang

(Aug. 2009-Jul. 2012)

S. H. Ju

(Aug. 2012-Jul. 2015)

H. T. Hu

(Aug. 2015-Jul. 2018) C. M. Kuo  (Aug. 2018- Jul. 2021)

J. H. Wu

(Aug. 2021-Jan. 2023)

 Y. C. Wang (Feb. 2023- Jul. 2023)

Y. C. Wang

(Aug. 2023- present)